What Time will Coinbase (Nasdaq: COIN) Be Listed?

The much awaited Nasdaq Direct Listing of Coinbase, which will get the stock ticker, COIN, takes place today – 14 April 2021 – but many people looking to invest may be wondering at what time this may happen.

The short answer is it is not clear.

Unlike a “traditional” IPO, Coinbase has opted to Direct List, a step taken more rarely. Other notable direct listers in recent year have been Air BNB and Spotify. Direct Listing means selling without a price set on launch, via an investment bank, and can mean that money isn’t “left on the table” when the stock lists.

It is a little harder to schedule, however.

One of the recent direct listings didn’t hit the market for buyers – retail or otherwise – until 1pm local time.

Another direct listed stock was Palantir (Nasdaq: PLTR) which began selling at 1.30pm EST (6.30pm BST, 7.30pm CET).

Keep an eye on the market, in other words, but don’t expect to see shares trading right on the opening bell.

In This Story: Coinbase (Nasdaq: COIN)

Coinbase, Inc. (Nasdaq: COIN) is an American cryptocurrency exchange platform that operates remote-first without an official physical headquarters. The company was founded in 2012 by Brian Armstrong and Fred Ehrsam, and as of March 2021, was the largest cryptocurrency exchange in the United States by trading volume. Coinbase IPO’d on the Nasdaq exchange on 14 April 2021, via a Direct Listing, they carry the stock ticker COIN.

5 Recent Items: Coinbase (Nasdaq: COIN)

  • Coinbase teams up with 401(k) provider to offer crypto exposure
  • How to regulate cryptocurrencies without stifling competition
  • Genies CEO on the future of avatar technology in a digital world
  • Bitcoin Volatility Isn’t New or Scary: Initialized Capital’s Tan
  • BINANCE.US CEO and others sound off on the last 24 hours of crypto’s wild ride
  • Leave a Comment