Home » Sport » British Short Track Speed Skating Team Announced

British Short Track Speed Skating Team Announced

Sarah Lindsay in Turin - Photo by Jamie McDonald/Getty Images courtesy of BOA

Team GB will be sending seven short track speed skating athletes to the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games in February. The Team GB short track speed skating athletes in Vancouver will be:

Men: Jon Eley, Anthony Douglas, Paul Worth, Jack Whelbourne, Tom Iveson.
Women: Sarah Lindsay, Elise Christie.

Short track differs in several ways from conventional speed skating, particularly in the obvious differences in the size of the track and the nature of the competition, but also in the competitor’s equipment. Races take place around an oval track (measuring around 111.12m) designed to fit inside an average ice rink.

The bends are tight and “short trackers” skate close together counter-clockwise jockeying for position and trying to cover any attempted breaks within the pack. The odd clash and tumble are inevitable with the walls and the rink being heavily padded. Although the aim is still to be the first across the line, speed takes a second place to tactics, especially in the heats.

Double Team GB Olympian, Jon Eley said:

It’s a brilliant feeling and a great honour for me to be selected to represent Team GB. I’ve never made any secret of the fact that, in my mind, taking part in the Olympic Winter Games is the greatest challenge in our sport. I’ve remembered a lot of lessons from competing in Turin nearly four years ago and I’m looking forward to improving on the fifth place I earned out there. I’m very much looking forward to being in Vancouver – being an Olympian is an extremely special feeling.

Triple Team GB Olympian, Sarah Lindsay said:

This is what makes it all worthwhile. The hard work, the injuries, the long hours training – they’re all worth it when you come to be selected to represent your country. It will be a special feeling for me to pull on the colours of Team GB. It’s inspirational.

The Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games take place from 12-28 February in Vancouver and Whistler in Canada. The seven sports on the Olympic programme for 2010 are: biathlon, bobsleigh, curling, ice hockey, luge, skating and skiing. The 15 disciplines are: biathlon, bobsleigh, skeleton, curling, ice hockey, luge, figure skating, short track speed skating, speed skating, Alpine skiing, cross country skiing, freestyle skiing, Nordic combined, ski jumping, snowboard.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Speed Finals | Ice Climbing World Championship

Live from Champagny-en-Vanoise for the 2017 UIAA Ice Climbing World Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *