Home » Sport » Motorsport » 2010 FIA GT1 World Championship Goes to Bartels & Bertolini

2010 FIA GT1 World Championship Goes to Bartels & Bertolini

Michael Bartels and Andrea Bertolini took the FIA GT1 World Championship in San Luis, Argentina on Sunday 5th December 2010.

Andrea Bertolini said:

“The key to this success is having a reliable car, a fast team-mate like Michael Bartels –who I consider a brother– and a team that is as motivated as I am. We were fast even when we were loaded with ballast; we attacked at the right time and we were good at avoiding difficult situations. This is what I call determination! Everyone deserves credit for it. I’m only sorry that we couldn’t get Maserati a car maker’s title. I dedicate this world championship to my wife, my son and to all those who have given me a helping hand.”

Hexis & Matech took the top spots in the final championship race, with the Vitaphone teams finishing 7th and 14th, but that didn’t hinder the celebrations for Bartels and Bertolini afterwards.

Final FIA GT1 World Championship driver’s classification:

  1. Bartels/Bertolini – Vitaphone Racing Team – Maserati MC12 138 p.
  2. Mutch – Matech – Ford GT 119 p.
  3. Makocwiecki – Hexis AMR – Aston Martin DB9 105 p.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Formula 1: New Toro Rosso Lineup For 2012 – Daniel Ricciardo & Jean-Eric Vergne

Formula 1 team Toro Rosso, the younger sibling of Constructor’s World Champions Red Bull, have …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *